Accessibility tools

Chair announcement

9 May 2024

Chair Announcement

I would like to share news that Dr Peter Madden, who has been a Non-Executive Director at East Cheshire NHS Trust, has left after six years in post.

On behalf of the Trust, I would like to thank Peter for bringing his wealth of knowledge and expertise to our Board for the past six years. He has played a key role as Vice Chair and Maternity and Neonatal Safety Champion. During his time with us, his keen eye for detail has been enormously supportive is his role as Chair of Safety Quality Standards committee and his contributions to Board assurance in relation to our Quality agenda.

Peter has gone over and above in terms of giving his time to the Trust and is always first to recognise the contribution and hard work of others, showing compassion and respect. Through walkabouts and committee meetings, he has encouraged staff to share their challenges and celebrate their achievements.

Peter is succeeded by Mr Chris Beacock who, following an extensive career in the NHS, brings 30 years of experience as a Urological Consultant at Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust, during which time he spent over three years in the post of Deputy Medical Director. Chris will be taking on all Peter’s previous roles including the role of Chair of the Safety Quality Standards (SQS) committee with immediate effect.

Alongside these announcements I am delighted to share that Mrs Jackie Waugh, Non-Executive Director and Senior Independent Director, will take on the role of Vice Chair of the Trust. Since joining East Cheshire NHS Trust in 2022, Jackie has been involved across the full range of committees and is currently Chair of the People Committee and East Cheshire NHS Charity Committee.

Our Non-Executive Directors play a vital role in ensuring effective governance and compliance and checking that performance standards are met as required by NHS England, the Care Quality Commission and other statutory bodies.

You can read full details of our Board members here on our website.

Aislinn O'Dwyer
Chair of East Cheshire NHS Trust